Baseball Player Won-Loss Records
Home     List of Articles

150 Players, 50 Seasons

Baseball Player Won-Lost Records:
150 Players, 50 Seasons

I have self-published a book which is available at Amazon as either a paperback or e-book for Kindle (the latter is free for those with Kindle Unlimited) entitled Baseball Player Won-Lost Records: 150 Players, 50 Seasons.

In this book, I use the page on this website where I allow one to calculate one's own uber-statistic to calculate a top 150 list of players over the first 50 seasons after MLB expansion: 1961 - 2010.

My book begins by explaining the weighting choices I made to produce my list. For each of the 150 players, then, I identify five highlights of their careers - including, hopefully, some fun facts that may be new to you (many were new to me before I began writing the book). I then look at what made each of these players elite, looking through the prism of my Player won-lost records.

I think that anybody who is or was a fan of baseball over any of these 50 years will enjoy this book and hopefully will find it informative. My goal here, in addition to entertaining you, is also to help readers to better understand and appreciate my Player won-lost records.

I hope that many of you will read and enjoy my book and that all of you will continue to enjoy my website. Thank you very much for reading! And if you like the book, please give me a good review on Amazon. Thanks!! The 150 players profiled in my book, in the order in which they appear, are as follows.

Weighted Career Leaders (1961 - 2010)
Rank Player Key Stat
1Barry Bonds633.1|
2Greg Maddux468.9|
3Roger Clemens457.2|
4Joe L. Morgan438.1|
5Alex Rodriguez379.6|
6Randy 'Big Unit' Johnson364.0|
7Tom Seaver347.7|
8Pedro J. Martinez330.0|
9Mike Schmidt326.9|
10Bob Gibson314.1|
11Rickey Henderson301.4|
12Steve Carlton297.2|
13Mike Piazza290.0|
14Jim Palmer278.0|
15Johnny Bench269.4|
16Carlton Fisk266.0|
17Cal Ripken265.4|
18Albert Pujols259.7|
19J. Kevin Brown257.3|
20Willie Mays251.4|
21Juan Marichal250.6|
22John Smoltz246.5|
23Tom Glavine243.7|
24Derek Jeter242.7|
25Mike Mussina240.9|
26Chipper Jones236.3|
27Reggie Jackson235.6|
28Alan Trammell229.8|
29Mariano Rivera228.8|
30Fergie Jenkins228.3|
31Curt Schilling226.4|
32Robin Yount223.9|
33Bobby Grich223.3|
34Gaylord Perry223.3|
35Manny Ramirez221.3|
36Bert Blyleven219.9|
37Hank Aaron219.6|
38Barry Larkin218.3|
39Nolan Ryan217.1|
40Lou Whitaker216.4|
41Jim Edmonds213.1|
42Jim Thome213.0|
43Frank Robinson208.9|
44Ken Griffey Jr.208.9|
45George Brett207.1|
46Mark McGwire206.9|
47Don Sutton206.3|
48Frank E. Thomas204.5|
49Willie McCovey204.3|
50Bret Saberhagen202.1|
51Roberto Alomar200.0|
52Gary Carter199.2|
53Tommy John199.2|
54Craig Biggio197.8|
55Willie Stargell197.3|
56Jeff Bagwell197.0|
57Carl Yastrzemski194.2|
58Eddie Murray191.9|
59Jorge Posada190.2|
60Roy Halladay187.7|
61Wade Boggs186.5|
62Dwight Gooden179.0|
63Gary Sheffield178.7|
64Dennis Eckersley174.2|
65Ryne Sandberg173.0|
66David Cone169.7|
67Ozzie Smith169.5|
68Johan Santana169.3|
69Dwight Evans167.7|
70Andy Pettitte167.1|
71Harmon Killebrew166.2|
72Sandy Koufax164.4|
73Jason Giambi164.4|
74Luis Tiant162.6|
75Dick Allen161.8|
76Larry Walker161.5|
77Jeff Kent161.4|
78Phil Niekro160.9|
79Orel Hershiser160.7|
80Dave Concepcion160.1|
81Rod Carew159.9|
82Darryl Strawberry156.5|
83Paul Molitor155.5|
84Tim Hudson152.1|
85Roy Oswalt152.0|
86Mickey Mantle152.0|
87Scott Rolen151.7|
88Willie Randolph150.7|
89Ron Guidry149.4|
90Dave Winfield149.1|
91Chase Utley147.5|
92Edgar Martinez146.5|
93Rick Reuschel144.5|
94Jim Kaat144.5|
95Bert Campaneris144.2|
96Catfish Hunter144.2|
97Toby Harrah143.8|
98Carlos Beltran143.6|
99C.C. Sabathia143.0|
100David Wells142.0|
101Ivan Rodriguez140.0|
102Jose Canseco140.0|
103Vida Blue139.8|
104Al Kaline139.4|
105Dennis Martinez138.9|
106Ron Santo138.8|
107Jimmy Wynn137.8|
108Amos Otis137.8|
109Darrell Porter136.9|
110Andruw Jones136.2|
111George Foster136.0|
112Fred Lynn135.0|
113Fernando Valenzuela134.5|
114Kevin Appier133.8|
115Dale Murphy133.6|
116Pete Rose Sr.132.3|
117Joe Torre131.6|
118Will Clark131.4|
119Gene Tenace131.3|
120Andre Dawson131.3|
121Nomar Garciaparra130.8|
122Ron Cey130.2|
123Dave Stieb130.2|
124Sal Bando130.2|
125Graig Nettles129.7|
126Roberto Clemente129.7|
127Jim Bunning129.2|
128Tony Perez129.0|
129Fred McGriff128.3|
130Lance Berkman128.0|
131Matt D. Williams127.9|
132Vladimir Guerrero127.6|
133Darrell Evans127.4|
134Brooks Robinson127.1|
135Cesar Cedeno126.2|
136Carlos Zambrano126.0|
137Steve Rogers125.9|
138Miguel Tejada125.1|
139Bill Freehan125.0|
140Tim Raines Sr.124.9|
141Bernie Williams124.8|
142Billy Williams124.4|
143Dick McAuliffe124.2|
144John Candelaria123.0|
145Ted Simmons121.3|
146Sammy Sosa121.0|
147Derek Lowe120.7|
148Davey Lopes120.6|
149Eric Davis120.3|
150Rich Gossage119.7|

All articles are written so that they pull data directly from the most recent version of the Player won-lost database. Hence, any numbers cited within these articles should automatically incorporate the most recent update to Player won-lost records. In some cases, however, the accompanying text may have been written based on previous versions of Player won-lost records. I apologize if this results in non-sensical text in any cases.

Home     List of Articles